top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAshley Dillon

Roman Shades for the win

There are so many options available when it comes to window coverings. It's important that when you're picking out window coverings, you have a variety in your home. Even if none of your choices are cutsom, a mix of different styles gives your home a more collected and high end look.

Lately I've been obsessed with roman shades. I have roman shades on almost every window in my home. I know what you're thinking "well wait a minute Ashley, you just said to use different types of window coverings". You're right, but although I have roman shades on every window, doesn't mean I ONLY have roman shades.


Some windows have shades and drapery. Some windows have just shades. Over the last two years I removed all of the old dusty blinds from the windows and slowly replaced them with bamboo shades.


I chose various drapery to go with the shades in each space, with three exceptions. The exterior doors all have unusual windows that I have been struggling to address. Let's go through them, shall we?

The front door has sidelights. Those windows straight out of the 90s on either side of the door. When I first moved in, my dad and I installed ODL blinds on these windows. I like a lot of privacy when it comes to my windows so I wanted to be able to completely block out these windows in the evening. The good thing about these blinds is they kind of blend right into the window. I recently painted my front door Sherwin Williams Urbane Bronze, and I painted the ODL blinds as well and they are barely noticeable.




My back two exterior doors both have windows in the top portion of the door. I used ODL blinds on these doors as well, but I have been itching to change them to fabric roman shades. Both of these doors have windows that are adjacent and I think matching roman shades complement the space.

I installed a linen shade on the door downstairs last night. And I am loving the look. Now I need to work on the kitchen back door!



19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page