top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAshley Dillon

My outdoor furniture from Arhaus

I think I may have had my most controversial Instagram post last week: my new outdoor furniture from Arhaus.  The lovely set in question is the Remington outdoor sofa and Remington outdoor swivel chair:

 

 



Here are some of the questions and comments I’ve received:

Is that really outdoor furniture?

How do you keep it clean?

Shouldn’t it be in a covered patio?

I wouldn’t have bought that set for your deck.

Won’t it get ruined in the winter?

 

I’ll answer these one by one.  First,


Is that really outdoor furniture?

Yes!  It really is.  Arhaus outdoor Remington collection is built to look like beautiful indoor furniture, but has the durability of outdoor furniture.  From their website:

it’s supported by a marine-grade frame constructed with the same wood used to build boats. Luxurious yet extremely durable upholstery envelops you in plush, all-weather comfort, featuring dense anti-microbial foam covered in easy-care outdoor performance fabrics that resist moisture, stains, and fading.

 

How do you keep it clean?

My outdoor furniture always has a cover on when no one is out there sitting on it.  I mean ALWAYS.  If we go out on the deck, we take the covers off and chill.  When we have been out for awhile, we always always always put the covers back on when we go inside.  It’s never uncovered for a few hours during the day.  This may seem extreme to some, but it’s how you keep outdoor furniture keeping good for years.





 

Shouldn’t it be in a covered patio?

I don’t have a covered patio.  And my HOA won’t let me build one.  Theoretically I could have put it on my lower deck, but that always has a lot of spiders and other creepy crawlies that I don’t like to hang out with. 

Also, the Arhaus retail stores keep outdoor furniture on display outside and uncovered all summer long. AND THEN SELL IT AT THE END OF THE SEASON! The picture below was taken right after a rainstorm at Arhaus Tyson’s.




The outlets ( LOFTS) keep their outdoor furniture that’s for sale in a huge uncovered lot.  All season long.  When it’s rained on the water beads up on the fabric and falls off.




 I wouldn’t have bought that set for your deck.

Okay cool.  Don’t buy it for yours.  YOLO


Wont it get ruined in the winter?

From the Arhaus website: 

  • Arhaus outdoor collections are built to resist the elements and frame your outdoor gathering spaces in comfort and style, but they should also be protected from damage and extreme weather.

  • To preserve the finish and look of your outdoor furniture while not in use, store them indoors or cover them securely during winter, heavy rain, and other periods of inclement weather.

  • Before storing, clean fabrics and ensure cushions are free of moisture, dirt, and debris.

  • Keep your outdoor furnishings protected year round with our exclusive Arhaus outdoor furniture covers—designed to complement the assortment of sizes and styles available in our Outdoor furniture collections and tailored to ensure the best fit possible.

  • Every fabric in our collection of Easy-Care Outdoor Fabrics is specially designed to withstand the elements year round. These UV- and fade-resistant materials are mold- and mildew-resistant, too, and can even be cleaned with bleach.

And there you have it folks.  I’m not concerned about my new outdoor furniture, and you should be either.  BUT, if you want to come over for a drink, let me know!  I’d be happy to have you.



50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page