top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAshley Dillon

Lighting: Adding hard wired sconces


Last year I wrote a blog post about using puck lights in sconces to avoid hard wiring. I'll admit, it is a clever trick, but after living with it for awhile, it's somewhat impractical for a few reasons:

  • The puck lights are super dim and offer no real substantial light

  • Because nothing is hardwired you're relying on batteries or rechargeable bulbs. And they're always dying when you actually want to use them.

  • Because it provides dim/non reliable light you hardly ever use them. All looks, no function, which is just bad design.


Instead I highly recommend having your sconces hard wired.



It's not that expensive in the grand scheme of things. My handyman charges $75 per fixture for hardwiring.

One of the most impactful changes I made this year was adding hardwired sconces to my upstairs hallways. We use them daily.

I plan on adding more in the next few days!



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page